ŚB 1.4.20

ऋग्यजु:सामाथर्वाख्या वेदाश्चत्वार उद्‍धृता: ।
इतिहासपुराणं च पञ्चमो वेद उच्यते ॥ २० ॥
vedāś catvāra uddhṛtāḥ
itihāsa-purāṇaṁ ca
pañcamo veda ucyate


ṛg-yajuḥ-sāma-atharva-ākhyāḥ — the names of the four Vedas; vedāḥ — the Vedas; catvāraḥ — four; uddhṛtāḥ — made into separate parts; itihāsa — historical records (Mahābhārata); purāṇam ca — and the Purāṇas; pañcamaḥ — the fifth; vedaḥ — the original source of knowledge; ucyate — is said to be.


The four divisions of the original sources of knowledge [the Vedas] were made separately. But the historical facts and authentic stories mentioned in the Purāṇas are called the fifth Veda.

BACE: Aiming to Teach Vedic Culture All Over the Globe.

©2020 BACE- Bhaktivedanta Academy of Culture and Education is explanation of Vedic knowledge with detail information which can be useful in daily spiritual practice and studies and research.

for further details please contact-